top of page

"It Takes Two": One Sunny Day

A young man and woman sit together on a cement bench with a field of grass in front of them and the sun above their heads.

HE: (looks up at the sky) How's your day?

SHE: (turns to look at him) Sunny.

HE: Did you look at the sun today?

SHE: No. I don't have to look up at the sun to know it's a sunny day.

HE: (looks at the sun and smirks) You're right. But you gotta look up to see a brighter sunlight.

SHE: Why would I do that?

HE: (turns to look at her) That's one way to make your day brighter.

SHE: (chuckles) I'd rather 'brighten my day' with something less damaging [to my eyes] and more worthwhile.

HE: Don't worry about damaging your eyes. We don't look at the sun often.

SHE: Still, it's not worthwhile to me.

HE: I say give it a chance. Perhaps you'll discover it's worth.

SHE: What do you mean?

HE: Unless you're an astronomist, we rarely see celestial bodies, let alone admire them.

SHE: (chuckles) Sounds like you admire them more often than infrequently. Are you an astronomist?

HE: No. I'm just a man who wants to live life. ...Just a man.

SHE: Hmmm... you're more than "just a man".

HE: In what way?

SHE: ...You're a peculiar one.

HE: (laughs) I don't know if that's a compliment, but I'll take it as one regardless.

SHE: Why? HE: Well, strangeness is either accepted or rejected. I choose to accept it.

SHE: And why is that?

HE: Because strange is unique, and unique is a rarity in this world.

SHE: (smirks) You're a peculiar one. Now that's a compliment.

HE: So, you agree with everything I've said?

SHE: ...Yes.

HE: Would you like to look at the sun wih me?

SHE: ...It'll only be for a short while though.

HE: At least we had that a moment together. ...a rare one in fact.

SHE: (grins) Okay.

Both of them look at the sun together for a few seconds, and then turn to look back at each other.

HE: How's your day now?

SHE: ...Sunnier.

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page